Song Wheel

Putting all the spokes in your teaching wheel!

Distracted Chillaxing

Posted by lbbartolomeo on June 27, 2012

As music teachers we try to relax during the summer.  Our school year is filled with so much STUFF; tight teaching schedules, administrative demands, new trends (Common Core Standards), performances, and a million more bits and pieces.  So as soon as vacation begins I make a list of things to do-personal, house, garden, social, school, financial.  In an effort to use my time wisely, I come up with this monster that in the end robs me of my RELAXATION.  Then to top it off I find myself on the computer cruising from one idea to another.

I started out needing to order replacement rubber for an old xylophone and because I didn’t want to pay the shipping I decided I should find something ELSE to buy to make the shipping worth it.   Then I get on the magnificent Music K8 site and there are so many fantastic ideas that I hop from thread to thread.  If you want to join this free mailing list, you can simply read and stay in the background.  But if you ask a question, you will receive so much great advice.  https://www.musick8.com/html/list.php

I guess the point is to strike a balance with the scale being more on the side of chillaxing.  But I don’t want to get to the week before school starts and wonder why in the heck I didn’t revise that lesson plan template or put together that new learning station for kindergarten.  Well, here’s to me striking a balance.

Leave a Reply

 
Song Wheel

Putting all the spokes in your teaching wheel!

indy bird photographer

birding and nature notes from central Indiana and beyond

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Sing Books with Emily: Celebrating the Wonderful World of Illustrated Song in Singable Picture Books

SallyPickering's Blog

Musings from the Middle Aged!

37 people can't be wrong...

Putting all the spokes in your teaching wheel!

Take Note

The Official Blog of Sheet Music Plus

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

