Song Wheel

Putting all the spokes in your teaching wheel!

Hush Little Baby

Posted by lbbartolomeo on July 14, 2012

This is one of my FAVORITE songs with so many great resources.  Hush, Little Baby

BOOKS

Using a Feierabend idea, I sing the song to the class without the book.  We may do this for a couple of class periods.  We might get out our stuffed animals and puppets and rock them since this is a lullaby.  Then over a period of a few weeks I use all the media below.

This wonderful book by Brian Pinkney uses African-American characters and some verses not in the traditional folk song.  LOVE IT!

Hush, Little Baby: A Folk Song with Pictures

The next book is illustrated by Marla Frazee and the Appalachian family is stuck with a crying baby.  My kids LOVE the reaction of the baby to all of the attempts to get her to go to sleep.  There’s some sibling rivalry infused, too.

This last version by Sylvia Long has a bunny family as the center of this classic folk song.  It adds a diversity to the main characters in the song.

MUSIC

Find the notation HERE.

VIDEO

The COOLEST video EVER!!!  Bobby McFerrin and a string trio (Yo-Yo Ma on cello, violin, string bass) performing Hush Little Baby in classic Bobby style.

4 Responses to “Hush Little Baby”

  1. dubturbo said

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i
    came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  2. Angelina said

    When I initially commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added-
    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I recieve four
    emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is an easy method you are
    able to remove me from that service? Many thanks!

    • I’m not sure how to take you off of notifications. Surely there’s a way for you to opt out of it. Is there something at the bottom of the emails that allows you to stop them? I will investigate and see if I can figure something out on my end. Thanks for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

 
Song Wheel

Putting all the spokes in your teaching wheel!

indy bird photographer

birding and nature notes from central Indiana and beyond

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Sing Books with Emily: Celebrating the Wonderful World of Illustrated Song in Singable Picture Books

SallyPickering's Blog

Musings from the Middle Aged!

37 people can't be wrong...

Putting all the spokes in your teaching wheel!

Take Note

The Official Blog of Sheet Music Plus

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

